Monthly Archive: January 2015

Jan 25

English 8: January 26-30

Monday, Jan. 26 AR Reading (15 mins) Analogy analysis – Monster : Fear & Encouragement : Hope A Monster Calls (AMC) book trailer Begin A Monster Calls (pg. 1-9)   Tuesday, Jan. 27 SNOW DAY   Wednesday, Jan. 28 Main Idea Flocabulary Video Yew Tree article & Main Idea Graphic Organizer AMC Activity: Begin AMC …

Continue reading »

Jan 19

English 8: 1/19-23

Monday, Jan. 19 MLK Day – No School   Tuesday, Jan. 20 15 mins AR reading Read NPR article: Smartphones can interrupt youth sleep Article Response: Understanding the prompt & debate (“Should students have a device curfew?”) Hire Me! Challenge essay work HW: Poetry Test study guide   Wednesday, Jan. 21 LMC – AR/Checkout IA …

Continue reading »

Jan 12

English 8: 1/12-16

Monday, Jan. 12 Group 1 (): Work on essay composition Group 2a (Adam, Drew, Michael, Rachel, Romeo): SOL anchor papers (see links below) Group 2b (Chloe, Dawn, Jacob, Kelli, Lane, Skylar): SOL anchor papers (Mechanics) &  & SOL anchor papers (Composition) Group 3 (Gabe, Tyra, Tristan, Brittenee, Sean, Isaiah, Kyle): DOE Sample problems B4: Group 1 (D’vetrio, …

Continue reading »

Jan 04

8H: 1/5-9

Monday, Jan. 5 (D1) & Tuesday, Jan. 6 (D2) 2011 IA SOL Writing Test Sample (OnTrac) Data analysis of results Personal Study Plan & Strategies LMC – AR/Checkout HW: Final Draft Due on Tuesday, Jan. 13   Wednesday. Jan. 7 (D1) & Thursday, Jan. 8 (D2) SOL Writing Prompt Thesis Statements & Outlines Poetry Introduction & Review …

Continue reading »

Jan 04

English 8: 1/5-9

Monday, Jan. 5 Writing Review (Topic/Support/Close; Thesis statements; SOL prompt reviews) IA Writing Review #77-80 3. Poetry Introduction & Terms Review (terms; types of rhymes [end, internal]; rhyme scheme) Vote: Top songs for poetic analysis   Tuesday, Jan. 6 IA Writing SOL Test 2011 (onTrac) Rhyme scheme practice with modern songs (student-voted) Research paper work …

Continue reading »